Image default

Kennedy Agyapong appointed to head Defence, interior committee of parliament.

Assin Central Member of Parliament, Kennedy Ohene Agyapong, has been made the Chairman of the Defence and Interior Committee of Parliament.

Parliament last week Thursday approved the position of Mr. Agyapong, NPP MP for Assin Central and other members of the various committees in a report of the Committee of Selection as presented to the House.

The firebrand MP will be assisted by Ophelia Mensah Hayford, NPP MP for Mfantseman, with James Agalga, NDC MP for Builsa North in the Upper East Region, as the Ranking Member, and Dr. Zanetor Agyeman-Rawlings (MP Korle Klottey) as Deputy Ranking Member.

Some of the members are Alexander K. Afenyo-Markin, Bryan Aceampong, Kwadjoe Asante, Daniel Botwe, Mohammed Amin Adam, Nana Ama Dokua Asiamah-Adjei and Dr. Mathew Opoku Prempeh.

The rest are Muhammed Bawah Braimah, Peter Lanchene Toobu, Benson Tongo Baba, Ernest Henry Norgbey, Kofi Adams, Helen Adjoa Ntoso and Cletus Apul Avoka.

Other Committees

The Standing Orders Committee is headed by Speaker Alban Bagbin, who has the power to interpret the Standing Orders of Parliament with both Majority Leader Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu and Minority Leader Haruna Iddrisu as members.

The Committee on Members Holding Offices of Profit is chaired by the Independent MP from Fomena, Andrew Asiamah Amoako with Wisdom Gidisu, NDC MP for Krachi East, as Ranking Member, while the Subsidiary Legislation Committee is chaired by Bolga East NDC MP, Dr. Dominic Akuritinga Ayine, with Joe Ghartey NPP MP for Essikadu as Ranking Member.

The Judiciary Committee is chaired by Sunyani East NPP MP, Kwasi Ameyaw Cheremeh, with Cletus Avoka, NDC MP for Zebilla, as Ranking Member; and Government Assurance Committee is chaired by Agona West MP, Cynthia Mamle Morrison, with John Kwabena Bless Oti, NDC MP for Nkwanta North, as Ranking Member.

The Majority Leader and NPP MP for Suame, Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, will chair the Special Budget Committee with Minority Leader and MP for Tamale South, Haruna Iddrisu, as the Ranking Member, while the Gender and Children Committee will be chaired by Kwabre East NPP MP, Francisca Oteng Mensah, with Krachi West NDC MP, Helen Adjoa Notoso as Ranking Member.

The Obuasi West NPP MP, Kwaku Agyeman Kwarteng, will chair the Finance Committee, with Ajumako-Enyan-Esiam NDC MP, Cassiel Ato Baah Forson, as Ranking Member.

Other members are Patrick Boamah (Vice Chairman), Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, Alexander Afenyo-Markin,  Kobina Tahir Hammond, Frank Annoh-Dompreh, Dr. Nana Ayew Afriyie, Sheila Bartels, Stephen Amoah, Kwame Anyimadu-Antwi, Collins Adomako Mensah, Kojo Oppong Nkrumah and Mohammed Amin Adam.

The rest are Isaac Adongo (Deputy Ranking), Alex Adomako-Mensah, John Abdulai Jinapor, Ahaji Collins Dauda, Benjamin Komla Kpodo, Yussif Issaka Jajah, Richard Acheampong, Thomas Ampem Nyarko, Ernest Henry Norbgey, and Laadi Ayi Ayamba.

The Public Accounts Committee, which is conventionally headed by a member of the opposition, will be chaired by the NDC MP for Ketu North, James Klutse Avedzi, with Fanteakwa South NPP MP, Kofi Okyere-Agyekum as the Ranking Member.

The Privileges Committee is chaired by NPP MP for Bekwai and First Deputy Speaker, Joseph Osei-Wusu, with NDC MP for Cape Coast South, Kweku George Ricketts-Hagan.

The Committee on Roads and Transport will also be chaired by Akim Swedru NPP MP, Kennedy Narko Osei, with NDC MP for Adaklu, Kwame Governs Agbodza, as Ranking Member, while the Education Committee is chaired by Kwabena Amankwa Asiamah, NPP MP for Fanteakwa North, with Peter Nortsu-Kotoe, NDC MP for Akasti North as the Ranking Member.

The Trade, Industry and Tourism Committee is chaired by the NPP MP for Tema West, Carlos Kingsley Ahenkorah, with Emmanuel Armah Kofi Buah, NDC MP for Ellembelle, as Ranking Member.

The Committee on Employment, Social Welfare and State Enterprises will be chaired by Kumawu NPP MP, Philip Basoah, with the NDC MP for Pru East, Dr. Kwabena Donkor, as Ranking Member; while the Committee on Foreign Affairs has Bryan Acheampong, NPP MP for Abetifi, as the Chairman, with North Tongu NDC MP, Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa, as the Ranking Member.

The Committee on Environment, Science and Technology has Dr. Emmanuel Marfo, NPP MP for Oforikrom as the Chairman, with Ebenezer Okletey Terlabi, NDC MP for Lower Manya Krobo, as Ranking Member; while the Lands and Forestry Committee is headed by Francis Manu-Adabor, NPP MP for Ahafo Ano South East, with Dr. Abdul Rashid Alhassan Pelpuo, NDC MP for Wa Central, as Ranking Member.

The Health Committee is chaired Dr. Nana Ayew Afriyie, NPP MP for Effiduasi-Asokore, with Kwabena Mintah Akandoh, NDC MP for Juaboso, as Ranking Member; whereas the Mines and Energy Committee is chaired by Samuel Atta Akyea, NPP MP for Abuakwa South, with John Abdulai Jinapor, NDC MP for Yapei Kusawgu as Ranking Member.

The Committee on Food, Agriculture and Cocoa Affairs will be chaired by John Frimpong Osei, NPP MP for Abirem, with Eric Opoku, NDC MP for Asunafo South, as Ranking Member, while Johnson Kwaku Adu, NPP MP for Ahafo Ano South West, will chair the Committee on Youth, Sports and Culture, with Kobena Mensah Woyome, NDC MP for South Tongu, as Ranking Member.

The Committee on Communication will be chaired by Cynthia Mamle Morrison with Bashir Fuseini Alhassan, NDC MP for Sagnarigu in the Northern Region, as the Ranking Member; whereas Emmanuel Akwasi Gyamfi, NPP MP for Odotobiri, will chair the Committee on Local Government and Rural Development, with Nii Lantey Vanderpuye, NDC MP for Odododiodoo, as the Ranking Member.

Leave a Comment